A01 What’s Changed and Why

A01 What’s Changed And Why?

Welcome to Awareness Mystery Value (AMV) 2016: the New Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education in Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset and the London Borough of Haringey.

This new syllabus, while strongly rooted in the previous versions of Awareness, Mystery and Value (1998, 2004, 2011), contains some important changes and some new guidance and support material.

It is important to note that there are NO CHANGES to the 2011 programmes of study.

The only new statutory requirement applies to the examples to be taken from religions and beliefs at KEY STAGES 3 and 4. Over Key Stages 3 and 4 as a whole, there should now be teaching about a non-religious worldview, such as Humanism, as well as Christianity and other religious traditions.

Broad guidance on the teaching of Humanism in the agreed syllabus [LINK to F08] is available, and many of the AMV schemes of learning contain references to the teaching of non-religious worldviews. There are also useful websites providing specific teaching resources:

The decision to include non-religious worldviews reflects (a) the importance of changes to the religion and belief demographic of our area and the country that indicate large increases in the numbers of people who express no religious affiliation, (b) the need for RE to be an inclusive subject that reflects local and national patterns of belief and practice and (c) the importance of presenting a balanced view of religion and belief that includes non-religious as well as specifically religious perspectives.

It is already the case in AMV, at EACH key stage, that schools should ‘include consideration of non-religious as well as religious perspectives’, but it was decided by the agreed syllabus conferences that for secondary age students a more in-depth consideration of a non-religious worldview should form a part of the broader study programme. The arrangements for the coverage of religions and beliefs for all key stages are outlined here. The new requirement is in bold type below.

Learning Opportunities from the Programmes of Study should be illustrated from AT LEAST the following religious traditions:

Foundation and
Key Stage 1
Christianity plus at least ONE other religion, from: Hinduism, Islam or Judaism.
Key Stage 2 Christianity plus at least THREE other religions: Hinduism, Islam and Judaism.
Key Stage 3 Christianity plus at least THREE other religions, from: Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism or Sikhism.
Key Stage 4 Christianity plus at least ONE other religion, from: Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism or Sikhism

Over Key Stages 3 and 4 as a whole, there should be teaching about Buddhism, Sikhism and a non-religious worldview, such as Humanism.

The minimum requirements on teaching about the different religions and beliefs in this syllabus can be found in full in the Coverage of Religions and Beliefs document.

Advice on appropriate material to be used for each religion is to be found in the Key Features of Each Religion at the Appropriate Key Stage document.

New Guidance

As well as the new statutory requirement above, AMV 2016 includes updated support for schools on this website. In particular, teachers should take account of the advice on assessment of pupils’ progress in RE. This new guidance has been produced in order to support schools now that ‘assessment levels’ are no longer recommended nationally. Instead, a new guide to standards and assessment has been provided that recognises the knowledge that pupils gain in RE as well as their abilities to interpret and evaluate the material.

The full guidance can be found in the STANDARDS IN RE document.